Voter turnout in Madhya Pradesh was 76.22 percent ReadingS


Madhya Pradesh recorded 76.22 per cent voter turnout on Friday (November 17), in what was seen as a mass anti-incumbency vote, the Election Commission of India (ECI) said.

According to the ECI, voting continued till late at night in many polling stations, including South Gwalior and Bairasia in Bhopal.

The fate of some high-profile candidates, including Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Union ministers Narendra Singh Tomar, Prahlad Patel, Faggan Singh Kulaste, MPs Rakesh Singh, Ganesh Singh, Riti Pathak, state Congress chief Kamal Nath and LoP Govind Singh, others, voting Once it ended on Friday, it was sealed in the EVM machines.

Among the total 2,533 candidates in the fray, a transgender candidate from Malhara in Chhatarpur district is contesting. Of the total 230 seats, 148 are general category, 35 are reserved for SCs and 47 are reserved for STs.

While the BJP is trying to retain power, the Congress is hoping to make a comeback with a simple majority this time.

news source (


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here