Non-Jewish visitors banned from Calcutta synagogues ReadingS


Even the parking spaces in front of these three synagogues have been withdrawn in the last few days.

Regular non-Jewish visitors to these synagogues recall that previously these places of worship were open to visitors of all religions at certain times of the day, six days a week. But even then, people were only allowed in after submitting copies of their identity and address documents to the synagogue offices.

These three synagogues, Magen David, Beth El and Neveh Shalome, are popular among the people of the city for their architectural excellence and beauty.

Of these three synagogues, Neveh Shalome was the first Jewish synagogue, founded in 1831 by Shalome Obaidah ha-Kohen. It is located on Indra Kumar Karnani Street, in the famous China Bazar area of ​​central Kolkata.

news source (


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here